The Cinema Studies Program held its Awards Lunch on April 26, 2018. We honored two faculty members who are retiring, Professors John Belton and Richard Koszarski. CS students and faculty will miss you!

We also celebrated the tenuring and promotion to Associate Professor of Rhiannon Welch, and presented the Undergraduate Essay Award to Dayna Hagewood and Gabrielle Woods, and the Graduate Essay Award to Chiara Degli Esposti. Several other graduating senior majors were present: Chelsea Lebron, Elorm Ocansey, and Austin Renna—congratulations!

Associate Professor Rhiannon Welch

Retiring professors John Belton and Richard Koszarski (center) with CS students and faculty

Essay Award winners, left to right: Dayna Hagewood (undergraduate); Chiara Degli Esposti (graduate); Gabrielle Woods (undergraduate)

On April 24, 2018 members of the Senior Seminar presented their final projects in a symposium they organized on “Neorealism as Counter Cinema.” Congratulations to the students on a wonderfully stimulating series of talks, and many thanks to Professor Rhiannon Welch for inspiring and mentoring them throughout the semester!

Student presenters, left to right: Thomas Evans; Elorm Ocansey; Dorian Alton; Andrew Schuller; Marcus Grey; Erin Keane; Benjamin Peraria; Anjali Patil; Johanna Morales; Gabrielle Woods; Chelsea Lebron; Bruce Lemyre; Bronwyn Kelly; Molly Burns; Dongshen Cai; and Hector Ayarza